Why Is Arjuna Award Given?

Who received Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2020?

Batsman Rohit SharmaBatsman Rohit Sharma is among the five athletes who will receive the country’s highest sporting honour, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, for 2020.

Rohit has become just the fourth cricketer who will be conferred the prestigious award after Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98), MS Dhoni (2007) and Virat Kohli (2018)..

Who won Khel Ratna Award?

Mariyappan ThangaveluPara-AtheleticsVinesh PhogatWrestlingRani RampalHockeyManika BatraRajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award for Table TennisRohit SharmaCricketRajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna/Winners

Who got first Arjun Award?

First Sportspersons to be awarded Arjuna Award#SportSportsperson1.ArcheryKrishan Das2.AthleticsGurbachan Singh Randhawa3.BadmintonNandu Natekar4.BasketballSarbjit Singh26 more rows

Why Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given?

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award is the highest sporting honour of India. … The recipient(s) is/are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry and is honoured for their “spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years” at international level.

Who got 1st Bharat Ratna of India?

C. RajagopalachariThe first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were: the last Governor-General of the Dominion of India – C. Rajagopalachari, second President and the first Vice President of India – Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and Nobel Prize Laureate, Physicist C. V. Raman; who were honoured in 1954.

Who is the youngest Arjuna Award winner?

KutraleeswaranKutraleeswaranNationalityIndianNotable awardsGuinness World Record, Arjuna Award

Which is bigger Khel Ratna or Arjuna Award?

Currently, the Khel Ratna comes with a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh, while the Arjuna awardees get Rs 5 lakh. … The prize money for Dhyan Chand and Dronacharya (Lifetime) awards will also be increased from Rs 5 lakh to Rs 15 lakh.

Who got Arjuna award in 2020?

Ishant SharmaNational Sports Awards 2020: Arjuna Award win result of 13 years of hard work, says Ishant Sharma. India fast bowler Ishant Sharma says winning this year’s Arjuna Award is the fruit of his hard work in the last 13 years.

Who is the first woman win Arjun Award?

Stephie D’Souza was win the Arjuna Award presented by the Government of India.

Which award is given in sports?

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardShikha Goyal. National Sports Awards 2020: The Government of India announced the National Sports Awards 2020 on 22 August. For the Arjuna Award, 27 sportspersons have been selected, this year and five names for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award which is the country’s highest sporting honour.